Resin Dogs Thrown A Bone At 2019 Queensland Music Awards

Trailblazing Brisbane hip hop crew Resin Dogs have won Best Hip Hop/Rap Song at the 2019 Queensland Music Awards for ‘Pack Your Bags’, taken from last year’s highly-acclaimed album ‘Notorious D.O.G.’.

‘Notorious D.O.G.’ was a much welcome return for Resin Dogs, with hit single ‘Pack Your Bags’ blasting a rich, soul-drenched brass groove and featuring the lyrical talents of long-time collaborator Abstract Rude.

It’s long overdue recognition for the core duo of Andrew ‘Katch’ Garvie and Dave Atkins. The pair have been key figures in the Brisbane hip hop scene for over 20 years, establishing Resin Dogs in 1996 and  releasing their debut EP ‘Grinnin’’ in 1997 on their own label Hydrofunk Records.

Their debut full-length album ‘Grand Theft Audio’ [2000] remains a defining instalment in the canon of Australian hip hop at large, laying a sonic foundation upon which they built not only their own legacy but also a flourishing community of artists and innovators.

Indigenous Award winner Emily Wurramara with 2019 QMA host Patience Hodgson of The Grates.

Managing Director of MADCAP Global Productions Stephen Morris maintains a long-standing association with Resin Dogs as an avid supporter of their inspiring work, and expresses his hearty congratulations to Andrew, Dave, Abstract Rude and the entire Resin Dogs crew.

“Congratulations indeed, lads!” Stephen says, “I couldn’t be prouder of Katch and Dave, to tell you they deserve this award doesn’t even do them justice after what they’ve contributed to the music community in Brisbane alone. I mean, could you imagine a hip hop scene in Brisbane without Resin Dogs? I’d also like to congratulate all of this year’s QMA winners, well done to you all.”

Graciously accepting their award on the night, the Resin Dogs also gave a powerhouse live performance to close out the night, leaving no doubt in anyone’s mind that these dogs still got plenty of bite.

2019 Queensland Music Award Winners

Blues / Roots Award
Emily Wurramara – ‘Tap Sticks’

Country Award
Emma Beau – ‘Wild Heart’

Electronic / Dance Award\
The Kite String Tangle – ‘Give It Time (feat. Aalias)’

Heavy Award
Dead Letter Circus – ‘The Armour You Own’

Hip Hop / Rap Award
Resin Dogs – ‘Pack Your Bags’

Indigenous Award
Emily Wurramara – ‘Lady Blue’

Jazz Award
The Biology of Plants – ‘Long Black’

Pop Award
Clea – ‘Dreaming’

Regional Award
Sahara Beck – ‘Here We Go Again’

Rock Award
The Jungle Giants – ‘Used To Be In Love’

Schools Award
Tokyo Twilight- ‘Little Things (Feat. DVNA)’

Singer Songwriter Award
Amy Shark – ‘I Said Hi’

Soul / Funk / R’n’B Award
Mark Peric – ‘The Sound of Light’

World / Folk Award
Asha Jefferies – ‘Everybody Talks’

Video Award
Buttah – ‘Ghost In The Machine’

Album of The Year
Tia Gostelow – ‘Thick Skin’

Song Of The Year
Clea – ‘Dreaming’

Billy Thorpe Scholarship
Pool Shop

Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award
Henry ‘Seaman’ Dan

Export Achievement Award
Confidence Man

People’s Choice Awards

Regional Venue of the Year

Metro Venue of the Year
The Triffid

Festival of the Year
Big Pineapple Music Festival

Facebook Comments